Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by
Wildcard SSL Certificates

Our Price: $19.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: TFC1007

Composed by: Bernard Herrmann

Sample Tracks
Name Number
Nazi Attack 02
Rout 06
Death Hunt 17
Riva’s Death 28
Prelude 31
The Mountain Ledge 38
Croft’s Death 41
Play All Tracks

Moscow Symphony Orchestra conducted by William Stromberg. Music reconstruction and preparation by John Morgan, Anna Bonn and William Stromberg.

The Tribute Film Classics team delivers a knockout recording of a great Bernard Herrmann find, the complete score for the 1969 WWII drama, Battle of Neretva. Written for full orchestra with expanded brass and percussion sections, the score mirrors the tone of the story, and features suspenseful moments of subdued tension, bittersweet string interludes, trudging music of despair for the displaced evacuees, but most of all, incredibly powerful, exciting, and relentless battle music and marches.

The score as heard in the film was, for the most part, butchered. Almost none of the cues are heard in their entirety, and some were dropped altogether. Although an original soundtrack CD was issued on the Southern Cross label, it contained only about thirty minutes of the score. This new Tribute recording doubles that amount, and presents the complete versions of all the music heard in the film, plus several unused cues, all in exceptionally well-recorded, thrillingly detailed sound. For those who have only heard the old CD, and especially those who have only seen the severely edited movie, this new recording will be a revelation. Astute listeners will notice that Herrmann “revisited” a few of his earlier works, reworking a few cues from previous scores, most notably On Dangerous Ground (including the famous Death Hunt, which receives a riveting, adrenaline-filled performance here).

Also included are highlights of Herrmann’s score for another WWII film, The Naked and the Dead (1958), featuring a pounding, determined main title march that is a showcase for the massed brasses and percussion. Other portions alternate between slower atmospheric pieces for the soldiers’ treks through the jungle, and piercing, angry cues when they engage the enemy.

The 32 page booklet designed by Jim Titus is filled with extensive notes by Jim Doherty and Kevin Scott on the films and scores.

1 Prelude 2:26
2 Nazi Attack 2:47
3 Retreat 3:23
4 Dawn 1:39
5 The Poem :51
6 Rout 1:05
7 From Italy 2:46
8 The Flag :58
9 Tanks 1:38
10 The Road 5:12
11 Pastorale 1:57
12 March 1:51
13 Grief 1:15
14 The Trestle :50
15 Suspense 1:19
16 The Lookout 1:40
17 Death Hunt 2:12
18 The Bridge 1:30
19 The Message :57
20 Waiting 1:08
21 Hunt Scherzo 1:48
22 Danica’s Death 1:41
23 The Front 2:19
24 Battle and Fanfares 4:59
25 Separation 3:36
26 Italian :58
27 Slow March 2:09
28 Riva’s Death 1:17
29 Finale 2:45
30 End Title 1:39

31 Prelude 1:57
32 The Jungle :56
33 The Snake 1:53
34 The Buzzards 1:41
35 The Grenades :24
36 The Pass 1:51
37 Wilson’s Death :58
38 The Mountain Ledge 1:33
39 The Fall :48
40 The Fog :40
41 Croft’s Death 1:26
42 Prayer and Rescue 1:38
43 Finale 1:14

Total Disc Time: 77:16

Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2019 Screen Archives Entertainment