Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by
Wildcard SSL Certificates

Our Price: $19.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: C6023

Composed by: Gabriel Yared

Caldera Records is proud to present the original score for the motion picture “Lisa” from 2001, directed by Pierre Grimblat, featuring music by Gabriel Yared. The film tells the story of young filmmaker Sam (Benoît Magimel) who becomes obsessed with an unfinished 1939 picture entitled “Princess Marushka”. In fact, Sam’s fascination is not with the film, but with its lead actor Sylvain Marceau (Sagamore Stévenin) who had mysteriously disappeared during World War II. What happened to him? Was the film unfinished because of his disappearance? Where had he gone? In order to answer the question, Sam decides to make a documentary about Sylvain and sets off to interview all surviving friends and colleagues who might have some insight into his character. His most interesting lead in the investigation is the eponymous Lisa Morain (played by Jeanne Moreau and a young Marion Cotillard) who recounts her torrid love affair with the actor on the eve of the outbreak of World War II.

The music for “Lisa” was written by Academy Award winner Gabriel Yared (“The English Patient”). His large orchestral score was recorded at Abbey Road and is brimming with memorable, haunting themes and motifs. The focus is on the love between the heroine and Sylvain as the darker themes of the German occupation keep looming in the shadows with the main theme being passionate, powerful and moving, providing a glimmer of hope for the protagonists in the film. “Lisa” vanished soon after its premiere and the score has been neglected since – until now. One of Gabriel Yared's most moving works receives its first release ever and it is a delightful discovery for fans of the composer and passionate movie music in general.

The 23rd CD-release of Caldera Records features a detailed booklet-text by Gergely Hubai, new front- and back cover drawings by Helmut Breneis and elegant artwork by Luis Miguel Rojas. The CD was produced by Stephan Eicke and John Elborg.

1. Ouverture (1:58)
2. Cine´the´a^tre (3:59)
3. Monologue (1:02)
4. Joinville (0:57)
5. Mobilisation (1:22)
6. Escalier (1:01)
7. Kiosque (1:36)
8. Miroir (2:55)
9. Mirador (1:23)
10. Les enfants cache´s (2:55)
11. Gare de l'est (1:26)
12. Les Enferme´s (2:28)
13. Variation Mi mineur (2:22)
14. Sylvain enferme´ (1:31)
15. Kaddish (1:23)
16. Henriette et les enferme´s (2:25)
17. Henriette suit Lisa (2:32)
18. Mirador no 2 (1:20)
19. Arrestation (5:15)
20. Générique de fin (3:19)

Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2018 Screen Archives Entertainment