Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by
Wildcard SSL Certificates

Our Price: $19.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: KR200328

Composed by: Monty Norman, David Heneker

Music by David Heneker and Monty Norman Lyrics by Julian More, David Heneker, and Monty Norman On April 23, 1958, Expresso Bongo burst on the London theatre scene. A satire of the music industry, the show starred Paul Scofield, James Kenney, Millicent Martin, Meier Tzelniker, Hy Hazell, and Elizabeth Ashley. The musical had a book by Wolf Mankowitz (A Kid for Two Farthings, The Day the Earth Caught Fire, Casino Royale) and Julian More (Irma la Douce), music by David Heneker (Half a Sixpence) and Monty Norman (the “James Bond Theme”), and lyrics by Julian More, David Heneker, and Monty Norman. The pop singer in the show was loosely based on Tommy Steele. It was a moderate hit but enough of one for director Val Guest to turn it into a film the following year, starring Laurence Harvey and pop singer Cliff Richard.

Divorced from its time and place, the score is really delightful, filled with snappy tunes, clever lyrics, and satirical over-the-top pop ballads of the era. After the show’s run, it kind of just disappeared off the face of the earth, with only its cast album and film version keeping its memory alive.

The original cast album of Expresso Bongo was released in mono only by Nixa Records. That was reissued in the United States many years later with an especially bad LP and then CD transfer. For this new release, James Nelson has done a major remastering, bringing the original brashness and luster back to what was an excellent recording. We’re also happy to include the Cliff Richard film songs, along with cover versions of two other songs from the show as bonus tracks. -KRITZERLAND RECORDS

1. Overture
2. Don’t You Sell Me Down the River
3. Expresso Party
4. Nausea
5. Spoil the Child
6. Seriously
7. I Never Had it So Good
8. There’s Nothing Wrong With the British Youth Today
9. The Shrine on the Second Floor
10. He’s Got Something for the Public
11. I Am
12. Nothing is for Nothing
13. We Bought It
14. Time
15. The Gravy Train
16. Finale

Bonus Tracks: Soundtrack EP
Cliff Richard and The Shadows
17. Love
18. A Voice in the Wilderness
19. The Shrine on the Second Floor
20. Bongo’s Blues

Cover Versions
21. He’s Got Something for the Public (Stephen Hill Singers/The Tony Hatch Orchestra)
22. Seriously (Millicent Martin/Tony Osborne Orchestra)

Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2018 Screen Archives Entertainment